Q: Consider the following statement:

- 1. India has achieved a landmark milestone, wherein 75000 startups have been recognized in the country.
- 2. 16th January has now been declared as the National Startup Day.
- 3. Skill India program which was primarily setup to provide an enabling environment for the startups.

Choose the correct option from the codes given below:

- a) 1 and 2
- b) 2 and 3
- c) 1 and 3
- d) 1, 2 and 3

Ans: a

Explanation:

- Recently, the Union Minister for Commerce & Industry, announced that India has achieved a landmark milestone, wherein 75000 startups have been recognized in the country.
- On 16th January 2016, the date which has now been declared as the National Startup Day, a program was initiated to lay out an action plan to build a strong ecosystem for nurturing innovation and startups in the country.
- Startup India program which was primarily setup to provide an enabling environment for the startups, has today evolved into the launchpad for them.

Q: Consider the following statement:

- 1. Wild Life (Protection) Act, 1972 had four schedules.
- 2. Recent amendment reduces the number of schedule from the vermin species and protected animals.
- 3. Recent amendment also inserts a new schedule for specimens listed under CITES.

Choose the correct option from the codes given below:

- a) 1 and 2
- b) 2 and 3
- c) 1 and 3
- d) 1, 2 and 3

Ans: b

Explanation:

- The previous Wild Life (Protection) Act, 1972 had six schedules for specially protected plants (one), specially protected animals (four), and one vermin species (small animals that carry disease and destroy food).
- The amended bill reduces the total number of schedules to four by eliminating the schedule for vermin species and reducing the number of schedules for specially protected animals to two. It also inserts a new schedule for specimens listed under CITES.

Q: Consider the following statement regarding tabletop airport in Uttar Pradesh:

- 1. Chitrakoot is set to get its first tabletop airport.
- 2. Chitrakoot will be the first operational airport of Bundelkhand.

Choose the correct option from the codes given below:

- a) 1 Only
- b) 2 Only
- c) 1 and 2
- d) None of the above

Ans: c

Explanation:

- The Uttar Pradesh's Chitrakoot is set to get its first tabletop airport. The development comes at a time when the town is witnessing a surge in the number of tourists.
- The first tabletop airport of the state constructed at the cost of Rs 146 crore is ready.

- This will be the first operational airport of Bundelkhand and will be managed by the Airport Authority of India (AAI).
- After acquiring the licence from the Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA), a 20-seater aircraft will also start flying from here under the UDAN scheme.
- The ropeway at Chitrakoot has been the centre of attraction for tourists visiting Chitrakoot since September 2019.

Q: Which among the following had quantitative targets upto 2030 under Nationally Determined Contribution (NDC):

- a) Cumulative electric power
- b) Reduce the emissions intensity of GDP by 33 to 35 percent
- c) Creation of additional carbon sink of 2.5 to 3 billion tonnes of CO2.
- d) All the above

Ans: d

Explanation:

- Earlier, India submitted its Intended Nationally Determined Contribution (NDC) to UNFCCC on October 2, 2015.
- The 2015 NDC comprised eight goals.
- Three of these have quantitative targets upto 2030 namely,
 - ✤ cumulative electric power installed capacity from non-fossil sources to reach 40%;
 - reduce the emissions intensity of GDP by 33 to 35 percent compared to 2005 levels and
 - creation of additional carbon sink of 2.5 to 3 billion tonnes of CO2 equivalent through additional forest and tree cover.

Q: Among the United Nation States, Which among the following Countries recognised Taiwan

- 1. Guatemala
- 2. Haiti
- 3. Honduras
- 4. Marshall Islands

Choose the correct option from the codes given below:

- a) 1, 2, 3 and 4
- b) 2, 3 and 4
- c) 1 and 3
- d) 2 and 4

Ans: a

Explanation:

• Taiwan is left with recognition from only 14 out of 193 United Nations member states: Belize, Eswatini, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, the Marshall Islands, Nauru, Nicaragua, Palau, Paraguay, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and Tuvalu.